Choosing Waxes And Polishes For Marine Detailing and Boat Cleaning

What types of waxes and polishes make the most sense for a boat detailing and yacht cleaning start-up service business? This is a loaded question for many reasons, first, it depends on the temperature when applying, the training of the crew member using the product and the cost of the products chosen (remember you are in business to maximize profits). Okay so let’s talk shall we?

You see, not long ago a new marine sector cleaning service entrepreneur called me and wanted a more definite answer to this tough question of waxes and polishes, so let me share this communication with you, as this information might also be of at least some value to you in your boat cleaning business.

“So just to clarify what would be your top go to choice of polish for gel coats? I plan on using the magic buff as compound and wax mainly, being that there are so many options for polishers, and is there any specific liquid wax you could recommend for the cockpit for like a final touch after the cleaning to give it that shine look”

I reiterated that I do not have a specific choice, I’d base it on the types of vessels I’d most be cleaning. If I am in a warmer climate in a marina with mostly nice boats, I’d use “Seal It” by AutoMagic or “Diamond Shine” by New American and not use a polishing compound at all. If I had to use a polishing compound I’d start with Finesse by 3M and work up their line based on how bad it was. 3M products are usually available close by, and I’d hate to stock too much product I may not use very often. If you plan on doing lots of boats that are problematic, maybe even specializing in that, then I’d keep more on hand. The nice thing about Magic Buff seems to be its versatility, thus, I think you are making a good choice. For cockpits, I really like the polymer-solvent waxes, nice on plastics, glass, fiberglass, etc.

That’s kind of where I sit, again, this is personal preference stuff, sometimes you have to try out a few products and see what you end up liking. Every operator needs to weigh the costs of the products with their quality and ease of use, also with their own preferences and understand the skill level of their crew members. There is no right or wrong answer on this, each detailer will have a different take on it. Still, the products I mentioned are easy to use and readily available. Please consider this.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/9487355

boat fiberglass repair
boat technician
marine yacht services
fiberglass boat cleaner
marine maintenance services
yacht cleaning services

Leave a Reply

